Ulterior Motive

Ulterior Motive Announce Debut Album details

Ulterior Motive have announced their highly anticipated debut LP ‘The Fourth Wall’ will be released on Metalheadz on October 6 with the first single, ‘Tape Pack’ / ‘Muted’, landing on September 15.

In the words of Metalheadz, “the overall aesthetic of the album is funk… the marriage of organic groove and electronic power, with an emphasis on narrative and emotion over typical drum & bass club trappings.”

As opposed to collaborating with producers, Ulterior Motive chose to feature vocalists and rappers like James Sunderland, Meyhem Lauren and Brotherman:

“We made a conscious effort to seek out new unused vocalists for the album project. We really wanted to use and work with people who hadn’t worked within the drum & bass format before, it’s outside perspectives like that that bring a new twist to things. We found James Sunderland by scouring the internet and just thought he sounded amazing and wanted him on the album.

“Aside from vocal features we wanted to keep the album 100% our productions, we’ve done our fair share of collaborations in the past and this was about demonstrating what we are about as Ulterior Motive and we felt the only way to do that is take full control of the creative process.”


  1. Stay feat. James Sunderland
  2. Sideways
  3. Open Up
  4. Keep It Moving
  5. Searchers
  6. Short Circuit
  7. Tape Pack
  8. INTA-National
  9. Muted feat. James Sunderland
  10. Edges
  11. The Rattler
  12. Longshot
  13. You Must See
  14. Chapters feat. Meyhem Lauren & Brotherman